20. Reel 6039; SZ756, p.283,4 1804, September 24 Settlement at Coal Harbour and Hunter's River to be named Newcastle

<u>Limits of Settlement and Governorship &c</u> <u>September 24th 1804</u>

It being necessary in order to settle the defined limits and Jurisdiction of the different Lieut Governors and Commandants of Settlements already formed and now forming; dependant on this Territory under the Authority of His Majesty's Captain General and Governor in Chief thereof in pursuance of the Royal Pleasure: The most advisable method of defining which appeased that of naming, certain Parallels of Latitude, as the Lines of Demarkation(sic) between the respective commands. It was directed by the General orders of the 24th of last Month, that the Settlement at the Coal Harbour and Hunter's River should be allowed to the Name of Newcastle District in the County of Northumberland, and that the line of demarcation between that county and Cumberland should be the parallel of 33.20 South Latitude

And whereas it is deemed advisable that the respective Limits and Jurisdiction of Lieutenant Governor Collins and Lieutenant Colonel Paterson's commands on Van Dieman's Land, a Dependency on this Territory, should also be defined. It is thereby directed that the part of Van Dieman's Land on the South side of the parallel of 42 South Latitude, in which Hobarts Town the seat of Lieut Governor Collins' Government is placed, be distinguished and Known by the name of the County of Buckinghamshire: and that the part of Van Dieman's Land on the North side of the said Parallel, in which Port Dalrymple, the seat of Lieut Colonel Patterson's Government lies, be distinguished and known by the Name of the County of Cornwall. Each of those officers are to exercise the duties of their respective Jurisdictions in the said Counties of Buckinghamshire and Cornwall, subordinate to His Majesty's Captain General and Governor in Chief of this Territory & its Dependencies, until His Majesty's further pleasure is signified thereon